Leadership » Board of Directors


Vijay Singh

Vijay Singh, a retired IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre (1970 batch) was a non-executive director of Tata Sons. Mr. Singh has handled several important assignments both in Madhya Pradesh and at the Centre during his 37-year career. At the Centre, the positions he held included Director, Department of Culture; Joint Secretary and Financial Adviser in the Ministry of Health; Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers; and Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. He became Chief Secretary of the Madhya Pradesh Government in October 2004 and served there until January 2006. Thereafter, he served as Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of AYUSH and later in the Department of Road Transport and Highways, before becoming Defence Secretary in August 2007. He served as a member of the Union Public Service Commission until April 2013.


Banmali Agrawala

Banmali Agrawala is the President – Infrastructure, Defence & Aerospace at Tata Sons Limited since October 1, 2017. Prior to this, he was President and CEO of GE South Asia, a position he held since February 2013. Earlier, Mr. Agrawala was the Executive Director on the Board of Tata Power and he has over 30 years of global experience. He started his career with the Wartsila Group, a Finnish manufacturing and services company, where he spent over 20 years, both in India and in Finland. At the time of leaving the Wartsila Group, he was the Managing Director of Wartsila India Ltd, the Global head of the Bio Power Industries and a member of the Global Power Plant Management Board. Mr. Agrawala graduated with a B.E. in Mechanical Engineering with distinction from Mangalore University in 1984 and is an alumnus of the Advanced Management Programme of Harvard Business School.


Air Chief Marshal NAK Browne (Retired)

Air Chief Marshal NAK Browne, also known as "Charlie" Browne, was the Chief of the Air staff (CAS) of the Indian Air Force (IAF) from 31st July 2011 to 31st December 2013. Air Chief Marshal Borwne served as India's Ambassador to Norway from August 2014 to August 2016. Air Chief Marshal Browne is an alumnus of the National Defence Academy and also trained with the UK's Royal Air Force on the Jaguar aircraft before commanding a Jaguar squadron. A graduate of Air Command and Staff College, Maxwell Air Force Base, USA, he has held many appointments including Joint Director at Air War Strategy Cell at Air Headquarters, Chief Operations Officer and Air Officer Commanding of a Sukhoi Su-30 base, Air -I at Western Air Command, Assistant Chief of Air Staff (Intelligence), Deputy Chief of Air Staff, AOC in C Western Air Command, Vice Chief of Air Staff at Air Headquarters. Browne was commissioned into the fighter stream of the IAF on June 24, 1972. As a fighter pilot, he has logged over 3,100 hours flying Hunters, Jaguars, MiG 21s and Su-30MKIs, and has served as an instructor at the Tactics and Combat Development Establishment (TACDE) and Defence Services Staff College (DSSC), Wellington. He opened the Defence Wing at Tel Aviv, Israel and served as Defence Attaché from April 1997 to July 2000.


Kesava Menon Chandrasekhar

Kesava Menon Chandrasekhar entered the Indian Administrative Service in 1970. He was ranked third in the list in the batch. Prior to that he secured B.A. (Honours) in Economics and M.A. in History from St. Stephen's College, University of Delhi. After entering Government service, he did his M.A. in Management Studies from the University of Leeds in UK. He spent the first 25 years of his career in Kerala holding positions such as Managing Director of the State Civil Supplies Corporation, District Collector of Idukki, Director of Fisheries, Principal Secretary (Industries) and Principal Secretary (Finance). During his subsequent 15-year tenure with the Central Government (1996 – 2011), he held several posts including Ambassador and Permanent Representative of India in the World Trade Organization in Geneva. He was the Union Revenue Secretary before rising to the position of Union Cabinet Secretary, a position which he retained for 4 years. He retired from Government service in 2011 at the age of 63. Post retirement, he was, for 5 years, Vice Chairman, Kerala State Planning Board with rank of Cabinet Minister of State. He is presently President – Sree Chitra Institute of Medical Sciences and Technology, Trivandrum and Chairman – Centre for Development Studies, Trivandrum.


Sukaran Singh

Sukaran Singh is the CEO & Managing Director of Tata Advanced Systems Ltd. He is responsible for developing opportunities in the newly liberalizing defence industry in India. He has an MBA in Finance/Marketing from the University of Chicago. He also has an M.A. in Economics from the University of Oxford in the UK and a B.A. in Economics from St. Stephen's College, Delhi University.


Mrs. Maya Swaminathan Sinha

Mrs. Maya Swaminathan Sinha is an ex IRS officer who took voluntary retirement from Government in 2010. During her 28 year tenure with Government of India, she served for 21 years with the Income Tax Department and 7 years on various deputations. During her tenure in the Income Tax Department, she rose from the post of Assistant Commissioner to the post of Commissioner. On deputation, she served with the Khadi and Village Industries Commission (KVIC) as its Commissioner. This is an autonomous body responsible for creation of employment through promotion of rural entrepreneurship. She also served a tenure as the Deputy Chairman of the Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (JNPT).

After taking voluntary retirement, she commenced her journey of entrepreneurship, first by setting up a cutting edge advisory service for PPPs (Private Public Partnerships) called Clear Maze Consulting Pvt. Ltd. and later also set up CMC Skills Pvt. Ltd.

a company engaged in implementation of skill development projects, customized to the needs of Industry. In addition to her entrepreneurial responsibilities, she serves as an Independent Director on the Boards of companies in Aviation, Defence, Financial Services, Infrastructure, Retail, Shipping and Travel.


Joint Venture & Subsidiaries